Games

When Will World War 3 Be Free To Play? Open Beta Release Date News

When Will World War 3 Be Free To Play? Open Beta Release Date News

World War 3 is an online multiplayer tactical FPS set against the backdrop of a modern global conflict. But it’s also an early access game, which means it’s still not yet finished and whilst you can buy the game, it could change significantly whilst the team continues to improve the game until it reaches a finished state. The closed beta for the game started a number of months back, but some fans have understandably been holding off for when the game goes free-to-play, planned to coincide with the game’s open beta. Initially, this was planned for launch in March 2o22, but unfortunately, the team decided they needed more time to work on the game.

Keep reading for everything you need to know about the game’s open beta launch.

Latest News

All the latest news and updates for the launch of the World War 3 Open Beta can be found just below in the dropdowns. Be sure to bookmark this page to keep up to speed on the latest goings-on.

May 20, 2022 - New Public Stress Test Announced

Farm 51 has announced the game’s next free-access Public Stress Test, coming this weekend (May 21-23).

The devs say they’ll be testing new load balancing to address issues of the previous Stress Tests. Additionally, they added that the results of test “will help decide on our next steps”, which hopefully means we’ll be one step closer to the open beta!

World War 3 will be playable for free from May 21 at 19:00 CEST/18:00 BST/10:00 PDT/13:00 EDT until May 23 at 19:00 CEST/18:00 BST/10:00 PDT/13:00 EDT as part of a new Public Stress Test. Enjoy!

World War 3 Open Beta Delay Explained

Here’s the full statement from the developers are The Farm 51:

“We have made the decision to postpone the free-to-play Open Beta launch of World War 3. A new release date will be announced in the near future. 

World War 3 has improved and changed for the better as a direct result of your cumulative playtime and feedback throughout the Closed Beta. That said, it’s clear from recent open tests that we still have a bit of work to do before the game is technically ready to welcome a larger audience.

We will use this extra time to polish the game, resolve network errors, improve server stability, and ensure World War 3 delivers on our vision of a thrilling online FPS experience that’s free and accessible to all players.

Thank you for all your continued support, patience, and understanding—we can’t wait for everyone to join the fray in Open Beta. In the meantime, World War 3 remains active and playable to anyone who purchases a Closed Beta Pack.”

How do I get access to the World War 3 Closed Beta Test?

You can access the World War 3 Closed Beta Test by purchasing one of five CBT Packs, including the Private Pack, Sergeant Pack, Lieutenant Pack, Major Pack, and President Pack. The prices of these packs is displayed just below:

  • Private Pack – $14.99
  • Sergeant Pack – $29.99
  • Lieutenant Pack – $49.99
  • Major Pack – $299.99